diary of a crafty momma

confessions of an impatient crafting momma, prone to procrastination & downright laziness.

brief introduction & a recipe

on July 21, 2012

I finally lost my patience with blogger & have started fresh with a whole new blog name & host…i’m really excited about the whole thing, even if it has taken me over a month to write out my first post. so, let’s move past that & onto the important stuff…why i’m writing this blog! quite frankly, i have too many thoughts in my head at any given moment & need a place to get it all out, vent about my kids, cats, hubby, etc, and maybe share a craft or recipe every so often…and pics, lots of pics! and without much further ado, here’s a little about me before i get to the good stuff …the s’more cups recipe! my very understanding hubby is luke, my 2 kids are stephen (the boy) & jordan (the girl), our 4 cats are cleo (the oldest/non-friendliest), ginger (the friendliest), abby (the squeaker), & simon (the lone boy)…there will be pics of all at some point throughout this blog! i’ve been an at-home mom since stephen was born, over 12 years ago, and my crafty side has become more prominent in the last 4 years (give or take). i’m hopelessly & helplessly addicted to pinterest & that has made me far more crafty & creative since i found it nearly a year ago…it’s a wonderfully, evil time suck! i’m not a big fan of cleaning, i’ll do it but i don’t like it. and finally, i’m a great procrastinator (if that’s even a thing), i’m always putting things off & then driving myself crazy when a “deadline” approaches…i’m starting to think that i really do thrive under crazy, chaotic pressure! so that’s a little about me, probably more than you really wanted, now i can move onto the recipe…that’s the important part of this post anyway ;)!

S’more Cups (modified from a Pampered Chef recipe)

ingredients:

1 sleeve graham crackers (8 whole)

1 stick butter, melted

4 hershey milk chocolate bars

12 large marshmallows

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place graham crackers into a gallon size ziploc bag, seal it,Β  and crush them into fine crumbs…i use my meat tenderizer & take out all my frustrations (it’s a little loud, but relieves lots of stress!) Once they are crushed, combine them in a medium bowl with the melted butter. Place 1/2 TBSP crumb mixture into the cups of a mini muffin pan (i spray mine with no-stick spray first), any remaining mixture can be divided up into the cups. *the original recipe suggests 1 TBSP for the mixture, but i found that to be too big & it didn’t leave me with enough mixture for all 24 cups.* Next firmly press crumbs to make a shallow cup, i use the back side of a rounded measuring spoon since i don’t have a mini-tart shaper. Bake 4-5 minutes, or until edges are bubbling.

While the base is baking, break up 2 of the chocolate bars into 24 rectangles and set aside. Using kitchen shears dipped in water, cut marshmallows in half crosswise. Remove pan from oven, place one rectangle of chocolate into each cup (I break the rectangles in half to make them fit easier),Β  then one marshmallow, cut side down, on top. Place back in oven for 1-2 minutes, until marshmallows are slightly softened. Remove from oven & place on a cooling rack for 15 minutes. Carefully remove cups from pan (I use a regular spoon to get them out) and let them cool completely. *This is where i stopped the first time i made them & they were very good, but if you want more chocolate then just continue to the next paragraph πŸ™‚

While the cups are cooling, break up the remaining chocolate bars & melt them using your preferred method (microwave, double-boiler, whatever you like). Once the chocolate is melted & the cups are cooled, drizzle the chocolate on top of all the cups (I put the cups close together on a piece of parchment paper to make drizzling & clean up easier). Let stand for 30 minutes-45 minutes to let the chocolate set, or place them in the refrigerator or freezer to speed up the setting, just be careful not to leave them in the freezer for too long.

And that’s it, really easy, the hardest part is waiting for everything to set! They can be stored in a single layer in an airtight container for up to a week in the refrigerator, but since I make these for parties I don’t have leftovers!

I’ve made these a couple times, using low-fat graham crackers & they’ve turned out fine. The cups can be tricky to remove from the pan, that’s why I use a spoon to scoop them out a bit easier. Once removed from the pan, there may be leftover crumb mixture that you can sprinkle on top of the drizzled chocolate before it sets, if you like.

~I really need to proofread better before i post~I forgot to mention that I used a Wilton squeeze bottle to melt & drizzle the chocolate on top.

Leave a Reply

Sewing Something Everyday

I love to sew. Quilts and clothes, bags and pillows.

Ginger Makes...

I make stuff!

valeriu dg barbu

Β©valeriu barbu

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

The English Travelers

β€œThe world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.” – St. Augustine

Drama Queen Seams

Where handmade is back in style...

Nhan Fiction

"Hope is my catalyst."

The English Travelers

β€œThe world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.” -St. Augustine

silkroadcollector.me

An International company that offers private antique art sales to clients around the globe.

Gembobs Inspiration

Gemmas Tutorials, Inventions, Ideas, Inspiration and Creations

The Wind from the West

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WITH A TANGLED SKEIN...

Trying to untangle what's tangled in (my) life.

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

theimaginationmuscle

Birthplace to all ideas:please, let me share a few of my own.

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Costa Rica Travel Blog .com

Costa Rica Travel Blog is the current traveller, will-be traveller, has-been traveller, and should-be traveller's guide to everything costa rica. Information, stories, news, advice - written by the Pura Vida! eh? Incorporated team - costa rican insiders, outsiders, and everywhere-in-between-siders.

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

