diary of a crafty momma

confessions of an impatient crafting momma, prone to procrastination & downright laziness.

pinterest broke my washer…

on August 29, 2012

ok, well, not literally…but it is a good, attention grabbing title! πŸ˜‰

it’s no secret that i love pinterest, it is my “go-to” site and my favorite “time-suck” tool! and in an attempt to actually use some of the “pins” i have pinned, i ended up breaking my washer in the process. my vain attempt to wash out that “yuck, wet towel” smell from my towels is what caused all my problems. well, maybe not so vain, since the process did work for the towel smell…the broken washer was just a bad side effect. as it turns out, my washer didn’t like to be switched between theΒ  hot water & cold water setting and therefore, the temp switch control (or whatever it’s called) broke. and me, being the resourceful cheap girl i am, decided that i was going to diagnose & fix the problem myself…thereby saving us money. but of course, the easier smarter thing would have been to just call a repair guy & have it over & done with, but sometimes i’m not into taking the easy route (i’m not always smart, either)!

now, because i am southern & know how to drag a story out longer than it needs to be, i will simply say in my sweetest southern twang…i ordered the part, nearly lost my mind waiting for the part, fixed the washer when the part finally arrived, & gladly (grudgingly) returned to my queen of the laundry status 4 days after the whole ordeal started. long story even shorter: no more whirlpool washers for me & i’ll call a handyman/repair guy the next time i have any kind of washer troubles!

so, i played a lovely game of laundry catch-up over the weekend and now we’re back to normal levels of laundry that i ignore until i give in & start the vicious cycle all over again.

~side note/bragging~hubby took a couple loads of laundry to the local laundromat so that i wouldn’t have to…love him!~

now, back to pinterest i go, off to find more tips/tricks/recipes/etc. to do…hopefully without the side effect of broken appliances! πŸ™‚

and in case anyone wants it, here’s the link to the laundry/towel washing tip (i used the vinegar method)…just be sure you can switch from hot to cold without breaking your machine! πŸ˜‰

http://www.wikihow.com/Remove-Mildew-Smell-from-Towels

Leave a Reply

Sewing Something Everyday

I love to sew. Quilts and clothes, bags and pillows.

Ginger Makes...

I make stuff!

valeriu dg barbu

Β© valeriu barbu

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

The English Travelers

β€œThe world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.” – St. Augustine

Drama Queen Seams

Where handmade is back in style...

Nhan Fiction

"Hope is my catalyst."

The English Travelers

β€œThe world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.” -St. Augustine

silkroadcollector.me

An International company that offers private antique art sales to clients around the globe.

Gembobs Inspiration

Gemmas Tutorials, Inventions, Ideas, Inspiration and Creations

The Wind from the West

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WITH A TANGLED SKEIN...

Trying to untangle what's tangled in (my) life.

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

theimaginationmuscle

Birthplace to all ideas:please, let me share a few of my own.

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Costa Rica Travel Blog .com

Costa Rica Travel Blog is the current traveller, will-be traveller, has-been traveller, and should-be traveller's guide to everything costa rica. Information, stories, news, advice - written by the Pura Vida! eh? Incorporated team - costa rican insiders, outsiders, and everywhere-in-between-siders.

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

