diary of a crafty momma

confessions of an impatient crafting momma, prone to procrastination & downright laziness.

so there’s this dress…

on September 13, 2013

actually, there are 2. scratch that, there are 3.

and really, they are patterns for dresses, not the actual dresses.

and i’m really torn about buying them…1) because they are pricey for me (i try to stay in the $10 & under area), 2) because i think i can figure them out with patterns i already own, and 3) they may not actually be flattering to my figure.

but they are all over the sewing blogs i frequent & they are super cute! it’s kind of like sewing peer pressure…all the other sewers are doing it, you should too!

this one, the salt spring (which i keep trying to call saltwater) looks really cute given the right fabric pattern. but it’s also the most expensive so i’m the most hesitant about getting it.

the washi dress has been on my “maybe” list for a while now. there are tons of variations so it wouldn’t just be a dress, i could make tops, too. i haven’t been able to “pull the trigger” on this one for 2 reasons…1) it has darts in the bodice & i’m not the biggest fan of sewing darts (although, is anybody really?) and 2) i’m not sure how flattering it would be on me…i try to avoid anything that has the chance of making me look even remotely bigger than i feel. i go back & forth about buying this one almost monthly.

this pattern, the staple dress, is my most recent “maybe” addition. i really think that i can figure it out on my own…i have a couple other patterns that have the same shape so i can go off them for the shaping, sewing, etc. plus, this is another one that makes me leery of how it will look on me so i’m hesitant to buy it.

since i’ve started sewing more for myself this year, i’m looking for more patterns that are easy & flattering…because i’m all about ease & comfort when it comes to making & wearing my clothes.

so, i’m on the hunt…maybe i will go ahead & give these a try…but until i decide, i have lots of others keeping me busy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “so there’s this dress…

  1. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you create this website yourself
    or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to construct my own blog and
    would like to find out where u got this from. thanks

Leave a Reply

Sewing Something Everyday

I love to sew. Quilts and clothes, bags and pillows.

Ginger Makes...

I make stuff!

valeriu dg barbu

©valeriu barbu

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

The English Travelers

“The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.” – St. Augustine

Drama Queen Seams

Where handmade is back in style...

Nhan Fiction

"Hope is my catalyst."

The English Travelers

“The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.” -St. Augustine

silkroadcollector.me

An International company that offers private antique art sales to clients around the globe.

Gembobs Inspiration

Gemmas Tutorials, Inventions, Ideas, Inspiration and Creations

The Wind from the West

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WITH A TANGLED SKEIN...

Trying to untangle what's tangled in (my) life.

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

theimaginationmuscle

Birthplace to all ideas:please, let me share a few of my own.

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Hollis Plample

draws comics

