diary of a crafty momma

confessions of an impatient crafting momma, prone to procrastination & downright laziness.

Venting just a bit…

on September 29, 2014

So, I’m awful at keeping this thing updated. I know. I feel bad. And will try better. Probably ๐Ÿ˜‰.

Anyway, back to why I’m finally posting…this Saturday is my 20th high school reunion! Wow, still can’t believe it’s been 20 years ๐Ÿ˜ณ. And much as I thought I would want to go to my reunion, now that it’s here, I’m not at all upset about the fact that I’m not going.

As it turns out, I’m completely content with my decision to skip this. In the end it comes down to finances…we just don’t have it in our budget to make the trip down to GA for a weekend. Especially since we’ll be making our annual trip to Charlotte, NC for the Ren Fest later in October. And as a family, we’d enjoy the NC trip much more than the GA one.

But, if I’m being completely honest here (it is my blog, so if I can’t be honest here, then where can I be ๐Ÿ˜‰) there’s not really anyone I want to see. What with the creation of things like Facebook and Twitter, whoever I wanted to know about since graduation can generally be found in one of the those 2 places. Or through a Google search. Yes, I know that online is not the same as in person…but it is helpful sometimes.

I went to my 10 year reunion, I didn’t really enjoy it, and it was simply a reminder that I wasn’t popular and there was a good reason for me always wanting to move away from Smyrna. I never have been one for wanting to stay in the same town where I grew up…that just seems odd to me. Yes, I know there are a good amount of people, generations even, that never move from their hometown and if that’s what they want from life than good for them. I didn’t want that…I wanted to move away, I always wanted to move away. And when given the chance, I took it.

So why would I go back? Even if it is just for one night?

I hope, for the planners, that they have a great turnout.

Ok, here’s the real truth…wine induced though it may be.

I don’t think they planned this well. They didn’t announce the date until 2 months before. And then the price for a single ticket was way more than I ever expected to pay…especially given what that money was paying for. But, maybe I’m cheap…And I have no problem admitting that. But the “early-bird” price of nearly $80 was just too much. Especially if you add in my travel expenses…it would total anywhere from $300-$500 (with hotel, gas, food, etc) and quite frankly that was way too much for me to pay to see people who honestly, probably don’t/wouldn’t remember me.

So, that’s that. It’s been 20 years since I graduated high school. And, more truth, there’s only one person I want to see from my graduating class (that isn’t on Facebook or Twitter or any other social media outlet, that I know of) and I don’t honestly think he’ll be there. But, if by chance he is…someone please let William Hendleman know that I’d like to know how he’s doing ๐Ÿ˜Š. *He was a friend, a great friend but nothing more…lest anyone think I’m trying to find an old boyfriend ๐Ÿ˜‰*

One response to “Venting just a bit…

  1. katie says:

    My high school did a similar thing for our 10 year several years back — announced it a few months before and only about 30 people showed up (out of over 300) and most of the class still lives within 2 hours of where we grew up. I didn’t go and don’t regret it because I didn’t need to be reminded of the things that I hated about high school. Come on to NC — it’s way funner anyway.

Leave a Reply

Sewing Something Everyday

I love to sew. Quilts and clothes, bags and pillows.

Ginger Makes...

I make stuff!

valeriu dg barbu

ยฉvaleriu barbu

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

The English Travelers

โ€œThe world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.โ€ โ€“ St. Augustine

Drama Queen Seams

Where handmade is back in style...

Nhan Fiction

"Hope is my catalyst."

The English Travelers

โ€œThe world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.โ€ -St. Augustine

silkroadcollector.me

An International company that offers private antique art sales to clients around the globe.

Gembobs Inspiration

Gemmas Tutorials, Inventions, Ideas, Inspiration and Creations

The Wind from the West

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WITH A TANGLED SKEIN...

Trying to untangle what's tangled in (my) life.

The Baggage Handler

I made the impossible easy in both worlds!

theimaginationmuscle

Birthplace to all ideas:please, let me share a few of my own.

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Hollis Plample

draws comics

